Celebrating a Birthday

December 14, 2009 at 8:29 pm 2 comments

I’m celebrating my friend’s birthday today.
Chocolate
Hot Chocolate
Penguins
Roses
Puns
Stories
I wish she could be here to celebrate too. After all, a 50th birthday. That’s huge.
More Chocolate
Red Hats
Purple Scarves
Singing
Dancing
Laughter
A Walk With the Pup
More Chocolate
James Brown singing, “I Feel Good”
More Chocolate
More Stories
Friends
But she can’t.
She can’t be here.
And so I celebrate with her in spirit only.
I think about her today and remember.
Her: Songs  / Stories  /  Smile  /  Laugh  /  Sincerity  /  Dedication  /  Integrity  /  Mentoring
The Questions Answered  /  The Questions Asked
The Morning Emails  /  The Evening Emails
The Coaching
The Shared Conference Hotel Rooms  /  The Shared Conference Workshops
The Shared Chocolate and Pancakes and Scones and Wine and Tea
The Shared Hopes and Dreams and Wishes
I wish I could find a way to tell her I think of her often.
And miss her.
And wish she could be here.
Instead I celebrate knowing her.
Instead I celebrate life, hers and mine, by trying to be a better person.
Knowing I am a better person for having known her.
I wish her a Happy Birthday – on what would have been her 50th birthday – my friend, Leanne

Entry filed under: Living Out Loud.

Pajama Night Delight Steering the Craft, by Ursula K. Le Guin

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lainie  |  December 15, 2009 at 8:24 am

    …the hugs, the guidance, the truffles. Today I’ll shake it off, step it up, savor a piece of chocolate and raise a glass to a wonderful woman.

    Reply
  • 2. Debra Morningstar  |  January 1, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    Beautiful, Sue.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Wait, Wait, There’s More!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers


