Steering the Craft, by Ursula K. Le Guin

January 12, 2010 at 9:06 am 1 comment

I’m working my way thru the book, Steering the Craft. In it there are exercises Ms. Le Guin has created as “consciousness raisers: their aim is to clarify and intensify your awareness of certain elements of prose writing and certain techniques and modes of storytelling.”  Because “skill in writing frees you to write what you want to write.”  And writing ” is an art, a craft, a making. To make something well is to give yourself to it.”

So, from time to time you may see my experiments in the craft of writing. I’ll let you know in the header if what you are about to read is my response to one of Le Guin’s exercises; I’ll let you know the directions of the exercise as well.

Until then, thanks for sticking with me.   sbb

Entry filed under: Steering the Craft_Writing Exercises.

Celebrating a Birthday An Exercise in Gorgeous Words: The Whiskers

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. bethfinke  |  January 24, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    Hi – I found your blog via the SCBWI-Illinois listserv and was drawn to it b/c I use wordpress, too. So many on the listserv use blogspot, but I find wordpress blogs the easiest ones to leave comments on, not all those hoops to jump through. Delighted you are using some of these “Steering the Craft” exercises, I teach a class of senior citizen writers and may use some of these exercises in class. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Wait, Wait, There’s More!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers


